Bhattari elected as Chair of Administrative and Budgetary Committee of UNGA


Nepal Foreign Affairs (KATHMANDU, 17 June) – Durga Prasad Bhattarai, Ambassador and Permanent Representative of Nepal to the United Nations in New York, was unanimously elected Chairman of the Administration and Budgetary Committee (the Fifth Committee) for the 70th session of the UNGA in New York on Monday.

According to press statement issued by Nepal’s Permanent Mission to UN in New York Ambassador Bhattarai will serve in this capacity from the beginning of the UNGA-70 on 15 September 2015 to its closure in September 2016.

One of six main committees, the Fifth Committee is responsible for administration and budgetary matters of the United Nations. Based on its reports, the General Assembly approves the budget of the Organisation.

The Committee also recommends to the UNGA financial and budgetary arrangements with specialized agencies. In the 70th session, the Committee will also carry out the triennial review of the scales of assessments to be apportioned to the Member States for their contribution to the 2016-2018 budget of the United Nations.

Following the election, Ambassador Bhattarai said it was a distinct honour for Nepal, and himself, to contribute to the work of the United Nations as chair of such an important Committee during the 70th year of the United Nations, having served as chair of the Fourth Committee at its 69th session.

Ambassador Bhattarai thanked all Member States for their trust in him, and thanked the members of the Asia-Pacific Group for unanimously nominating him for the post. He acknowledged the enormity of the Committee’s tasks in the coming session, and expressed confidence in continuing understanding and support from all sides.

This election provides yet another opportunity for Nepal to contribute directly to the work of the UN. In addition to the overall representation of Nepal at the UN System and various treaty bodies in New York, the Permanent Mission represents Nepal as an elected member of the Asia-Pacific Group of countries at ECOSOC, the UNDP/UNFPA/UNOPS Executive Board (Vice-President), the Peace building Commission, and the UNICEF Executive Board.



Comment Here