Myanmar president, vice president not to run in general election: ruling party

NAY PYI TAW, Aug. 12 (Xinhua) — Myanmar President U Thein Sein and Vice President U Nyan Tun will not run in the upcoming general election slated for Nov. 8, General Secretary of the ruling Union Solidarity and Development Party (USDP) U Maung Maung Thein told a press conference here Wednesday.

Despite absence from running, U Thein Sein will always be a member to the USDP, U Maung Maung Thein said, adding that the president has personally reserved his own constituency, Zaputhiri in Nay Pyi Taw, for Communication Minister U Myat Hein to contest the election.

He said the party has not yet nominated candidate for presidential run; however, he added that if the party wins the election, its central committee will make a decision.

He noted that according to constitution, the president’s presence or absence from the election does not affect the continued assumption of presidency.

Party Chairman U Shwe Mann, also speaker of the parliament, will compete in Phyu township constituency for the seat of House of Representatives, while Vice President Sai Mauk Kham will compete in Lashio township constituency for the same seat of House of Representatives.

Of the USDP candidates, one-third are freshers, while two- thirds are current MPs. Among them are 50 government officials and 59 ex-military officials including former No. 3 top military official, General Hla Htay Win who retired from the military service to contest the election.

Of the 59 former military officials, 19 will compete for the House of Representatives, 7 for the House of Nationalities and 33 for the Region or State Parliament.

The USDP has nominated 1,147 candidates nationwide to run in the November general election. Of them, 320 will compete for the House of Representatives (Lower House), 166 for the House of Nationalities (Upper House), 632 for the Region or State Parliament and 29 for the Region or State Parliament of National Races.

Meanwhile, Minister at the President’s Office U Soe Thane is said to contest the election as an individual candidate.

Myanmar’s Union Election Commission has designated 1,179 constituencies across the country for the vote at four levels of parliament representatives.

The 2015 general election is to produce parliament representatives to the next term of the parliament which will then form a new government in early 2016.


Comment Here